31 Days of Halloween 2019, Make-up

Hanahaki Disease (5/31)

IMG_0596

(All photos are edited by me. The eyes, hair and background are edited but the makeup hasn’t been edited).

I actually found the inspiration for this disease on Instagram. I’d never heard of it before but it’s very popular within fandoms.

Hanahaki Disease is a fictional disease in which the victim coughs up flower petals when they suffer from one-sided love. It ends when the beloved returns their feelings, or when the victim dies. It can be cured through surgical removal but the victim’s romantic feelings disappear. I loved the idea of this and have since read lots of different fanfics about it! I’m a sucker for anything romantic!

So firstly I struggled for a while trying to think of a safe way to cover up my eye as I’d never done it before. Eventually I came up with the idea to build the piece off my face first. I used liquid latex and a mixture of tissues and cotton wool to build up a circle that would fit around my eye. Once I was happy that it wouldn’t touch my eye I just placed a piece of paper over the top with some liquid latex. When that was dry I glued on the fake flowers with liquid latex and left it overnight to dry.

The next morning when it was completely dry I trimmed around the edges of the circle to slim it down a little so you couldn’t see much of the paper underneath. I then used red face paint to paint in between each flower to look a bit like blood and to disguise the paper.

Before using it on my face I did the rest of my makeup because I knew I wouldn’t be able to see after I glued it on.

I used the L’Oreal Infallible Primer first and for my foundation I used a mixture of Revlon Colorstay 150 and Nyx Stay Matte but not Flat in Nude Beige because I’m a bit more tanned. To conceal under my one eye I used the Collection Lasting Perfection concealer. I then set my face with the Rimmel Stay Matte translucent powder. For my brow I used the Makeup Revolution Ultra Brow palette. I used the P.Louise Base on my lids.

IMG_0637

For my eyeshadow I started with the dark pink shade from the Morphe 35c palette and blended it up towards my brow. In my crease I used the red shade from the Morphe 35c palette and blended it into the pink. I then used the dark red shade from the Morphe 35n palette right in my crease and blended it out to the outer corner of my eye. I then cut my crease with the P.Louise Base and used Osun and Zuba from the Juvias Place The Magic palette over the top. I blended the outer corner with the same dark red from the Morphe 35n palette. I used the same colours underneath and blended them out. For the highlight in the corner of my eye and on my brow bone I used the pink highlighter from the Makeup Revolution Cool Glow palette. For my lashes I used the Nessychoice lashes in 05.

For my lips I used the Nyx Soft Matte in Madrid on just the centre of my lips and then used the Nyx Lip Gloss over the top to create a glossy finish.

I then used liquid latex to glue the eye piece to my face. I added a few extra flowers on the corners to make it blend in better and also added some flowers down my chin. For the flower near my mouth I kept the stem on and just put the stem in my mouth to keep it from moving, just so I didn’t need to put liquid latex near my mouth. I used some red face paint all over the flowers and then blobbed on some fake blood so it dripped down my face.

IMG_0619-3

And that’s the look finished! It actually wasn’t as uncomfortable as I thought it would be although I couldn’t see a thing! I loved how this turned out, just how I imagined it and I love the story behind it too!

Thank you for taking a look and don’t forget to check out yesterdays look- Cleopatra 2.0 (4/31)

Stay Happy!

Sarah

1 thought on “Hanahaki Disease (5/31)”

  1. Pingback: Heartless (6/31)

Leave a comment